Friday, August 08, 2008

The Beatles - Live At The Hollywood Bowl 1964 (US Mono LP) (Genuine Acetate Mix)

Label: Dr. Ebbetts, TAO 2222

1. Twist and Shout
2. You Can't Do That
3. All My Loving
4. She Loves You
5. Things We Said Today
6. Roll Over Beethoven
7. Can't Buy Me Love
8. If I Fell
9. I Want To Hold Your Hand
10. Boys
11. A Hard Day's Night
12. Long Tall Sally

Recorded live at The Hollywood Bowl
August 23, 1964

Liner Notes

As many of you know, Ebbetts currently offers a title in the catalogue called "The Beatles Live At The Hollywood Bowl (Capitol Project)." This title was meant to represent the "infamous" Capitol Records project that never came to be - namely, the release of a Beatles live album that featured the band's performace in August, 1964 at the Hollywood Bowl. As is now well-known, this proposed release was given a project number by the powers-that-be at Capitol. An actual monophonic acetate was made of this performance! Sadly, the whole thing was eventually shelved. As many of you also know, Ebbetts decided to bring this never-completed idea to life by utilizing the suggested artwork from Bruce Spizer's remarkable book on the history of the Beatles on Capitol Records and compiling the best sounding source material. What eventually came about was a very popular addition to the Ebbetts catalogue. Unfortunately, even with its popularity, this title has always "bugged" me a bit - as well as many others along the way. While it did offer a stereophonic version of the COMPLETE performance with detailed Ebbetts labelling and artwork, it wasn't a TRUE representation of the project as created by Capitol. (I have been reminded of this fact more times than I care to recount). The original acetate was edited to exclude much of the chatter and dead space and made to sound a bit tighter. Some slight reverb was also applied to the original acetate to enhance the "live" feel. None of these specifications were evident on the original Ebbetts stereo release of this title.

That's where THIS release comes in.

Using the original Capitol acetate as a guide, this release replicates EVERY detail of the original. It has been edited PRECISELY as the acetate was, and with the help of several people who are not only Beatle afficianados, but PROFOUNDLY knowledgeable with sound and effects, the reverb has been replicated. This MONO TYPE-B mix was created exactly as the Capitol acetate was. This is how this project should have been released by Ebbetts originally. The artwork will look the same as the current stereo version.

Eventually, a true STEREO version of this acetate edit will be released as a new title by Ebbetts. At that time, the current incarnation of the complete unedited stereo show will be discontinued, but offered as a FREE UPGRADE with brand new artwork. (That will be explained in further detail when the time comes. Just a little heads up).

No comments: