Thursday, April 29, 2010

"Got to Get You Into My Life"

"Got to Get You into My Life" is a song by The Beatles on the album Revolver. It was released as a single in the US in 1976, a decade after its initial release and six years after The Beatles split up. This was the single that was released as a promo for the Rock 'n' Roll Music compilation album. It hit #7 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, The Beatles' last top ten hit there until their 1995 release "Free as a Bird."

Development of song

Though officially credited to Lennon-McCartney, McCartney was primarily responsible for the writing of this track, to which he also contributes lead vocals. John Lennon was said to have been very fond of the song, saying this was, "Paul at his best," according to a 1980 Playboy interview. McCartney attempted to write in the style of American soul music for this song, as particularly inspired by the Stax label. The soul revue-style horns are especially allusive to the Stax "Memphis soul" sound. Traces of Motown influence are apparent as well. It was recorded at Abbey Road Studios between 7 April and 17 June 1966 and evolved considerably between the first takes and the final version released on album. The mono and stereo versions of the recording also feature completely different ad libs in the fade-out. In Got to Get You Into My Life, the brass were miked in the bells of their instruments then put through a limiter.

Song structure

Following the outro chords of "I Want to Tell You", the song immediately starts with the horns. McCartney's vocals clock in at 0:07. The predominant instrument playing is the horns, similar to the soul records of the late '50s and early '60s. The chorus of the song appears at 1:04, with the song's title sung. The song switches between a verse and the refrain. The electric guitar solo clocks in at 1:53, and at 2:10 the horns come in, playing the same chords as the song opened with. The song closes with fading vocals of McCartney, much akin to the soul records of the time. The percussion instrument most predominant is the tambourine, overdubbed onto the standard drum kit.


Although many believed it was a love song that Paul was writing for a girl, he later disclosed the song was about marijuana in Barry Miles' book Paul McCartney: Many Years from Now. Many lyrics from the song suggested this - "I took a ride I didn't know what I would find there / Another road where maybe I could see some other kind of mind there.", "What can I do, what can I be when I'm with you I want to stay there / If I am true I will never leave and if I do I know the way there."


* Paul McCartney – vocals, bass
* John Lennon – rhythm guitar, vocals (on Anthology 2 version)
* George Harrison – lead guitar, vocals (on Anthology 2 version)
* Ringo Starr – drums, tambourine
* George Martin – organ
* Eddie Thornton – trumpet
* Ian Hamer – trumpet
* Les Condon – trumpet
* Alan Branscombe – tenor saxophone
* Peter Coe – tenor saxophone

Other Covers

* Cliff Bennett and the Rebel Rousers
* Blood, Sweat, and Tears
* Earth, Wind, and Fire
* Diana Ross
* Syesha Mercado of American Idol
* Courtney Murphy of Australian Idol
* Matt Corby of Australian Idol
* Daniel Johnston
* BUCK Enterprises

B-side: "Helter Skelter"
Released: Album: 5 August 1966; Single: 31 May 1976 (U.S.)
Format: 7"
Recorded: Abbey Road Studios - 7 April, 17 June 1966
Genre: Soul/ Rock
Length: 2:27 (stereo version), 2:35 (mono version)
Label: Capitol 4274 (U.S.)
Writer(s): Lennon/McCartney
Producer: George Martin


No comments: