Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Holy Grail Recording #5 - Cavern Club live set (1962)

In this series, In The Life Of...The Beatles presents the top 10 unreleased recordings of the Beatles.

Paul McCartney purchased at Sotheby's in 1985 a tape of a live set of the Beatles performing at the Cavern circa July 1962. None of it has since seen the light of day, but the song titles alone make it an extremely unique item. The set list includes:
  • "Hey Baby"
  • "If You Gotta Make a Fool Of Somebody"
  • "Hippy Hippy Shake"
  • "Please Mr. Postman"
  • "Roll Over Beethoven"
  • "Ask Me Why"
  • "Sharing You"
  • "Your Feet's Too Big"
  • "Words Of Love"
  • "Till There Was You"
  • "Dizzy Miss Lizzie"
  • "I Forgot To Remember To Forget"
  • "Matchbox" (vocal: Pete Best)
  • "Shimmy Shake"
  • "Young Blood"
  • "Dream Baby"
Here's an example of what some of it may sound like. This is "The Hippy Hippy Shake" from a few months later, at the Star-Club in Hamburg, Germany, December 1962:

Next installment: June 23

No comments: