Sunday, August 10, 2008

The Beatles On Tour 1965

Label: Silent Sea Productions, ssdv.005

82 minutes - color and b+w - mono

The Beatles began their 1965 European tour with two shows in Paris at 3:00 and 9:00 pm. Six thousand fans saw each show. The afternoon show was taped for radio broadcast a week later by Frances Europe 1, which also broadcast the evening show live. That evening show was also taped for telecast by France's Channel 2 and aired as Les Beatles on October 31st. "I Feel Fine" was not used, while the remaining songs were shown out of order - "Twist And Shout," "She's A Woman," "Ticket To Ride," "Can't Buy Me Love," "I'm A Loser," "I Wanna Be Your Man," "A Hard Day's Night," "Baby's In Black," "Rock And Roll Music," "Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby" and "Long Tall Sally."

The Beatles' first appearance at Shea Stadium was seen by 55,600 fans, a new world record for a pop concert. Their share of the $304,000 gate was $160,000. Their portion of the show began at 9:16 pm. The television special was first shown by the BBC (in black-and-white) on March 1, 1966. Its only color telecast was by ABC-TV in the U.S. on January 10, 1967. Our version incorporates the five songs from Anthology.

1 intro
2 Twist And Shout
3 She's A Woman
4 I'm A Loser
5 Can't Buy Me Love
6 Baby's In Black
7 I Wanna Be Your Man
8 A Hard Day's Night
9 Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
10 Rock And Roll Music
11 I Feel Fine
12 Ticket To Ride
13 Long Tall Sally

1 " was great at Shea..."
2 I'm Down
3 "...Murray the K..."
4 The Discotheque Dancers
5 King Curtis
6 Brenda Holloway
7 Sounds Incorporated
8 "...Cousin Brucie..."
9 "...a truly great American..."
10 Twist And Shout
11 I Feel Fine
12 Dizzy Miss Lizzie
13 Ticket To Ride
14 Act Naturally
15 Can't Buy Me Love
16 Baby's In Black
17 A Hard Day's Night
18 Help!
19 I'm Down/credits

No comments: